PDA

View Full Version : Texturing Fluids

CamU
07-23-2003, 08:46 AM
Guys,

I'm new to Maya, at least the fluid effects part since I'm more into technical presentations of mechanical stuff and products, and I would very much appreciate some help on this.

I'm using a 2D fluid with a height map and I'm trying to texture the fluid. I just can't figure out exactly where to apply the texture/shader to the fluid.

I've found the options to make the texture to be static or move with the fluid etc so I figure there must be a way(with Maya there always seems to be way). And I DO read the manual but I guess I just can't interpret this part. There are plenty of references to texture the fluid but I can't seem to find the proper one.

Again, I would greatly appreciate any help on this.

Thanks, CamU

Duncan
07-23-2003, 05:51 PM
In the texture section of the fluid, turn on opacity mapping and use the built in texture attributes. That is if you want to map the height. If you want to map the color use the color mapping. If you want to use an image, you could load the image into the fluid using the paintFluids import tool.

Duncan

CamU
07-23-2003, 06:47 PM
Thanks for the fast answer,

As you suggest I have already mapped the height using the paintfluids import tool so there is not a problem. The effect I'm after here is similar to the effect you showed in the 'understandingt fluideffects' DVD, with the maya logo formimg and dissapearing in a red carpetlike fluid.
So the one thing I have yet to do in order to accomplish that is to assign (lets say a velvet-) shader onto the actual surface of the fluid. Probably you didn't use a shader but rather a colour....

The trickiest part so far was to make a 'flat' top on the top of the fluid as if it was smoke reaching an 'invisible' ceiling but i managed to pull that one of by adjusting the incandescencelevels (i think that was it at least).

If you want to map the color use the color mapping