PDA

View Full Version : Need another pair of eye's...

PokerG
06-05-2009, 09:19 PM
Been trying to do this shot, it is in a bad state and was wondering if someone had ideas on how to rescue it, here it is (23MB): http://milady.reaperman.org/sequence-to-post-lovelondon-fcp-.mov

Spent ages getting the dynamics to work as Maya is prohibitively slow with its built in dynamics and the plugin I ended up with had serious limits, so the lighting and compositing has kinda gone out of the window. You will also notice what a terrible plate I am working with, that's what happens when you end up recording the shot on a D90 because the battery for the main camera is back in the house. (Not that the Nikon D90 is a bad camera just that I am not very good with it)

The lighting for the shot (in Maya) is very flat with a high ambient light which I know is a bad idea but it got me the closest match that I could get quickly inside Maya. I can go back to the whole lighting again if you don't think this is salvagable without it, but we are on a very tight timescale and have to get this out the door ASAP even though its a non-paid for shot (which is lucky considering how bad it is right now).

Any help would be appreciated, we are using Shake for compositing so you can be specific with your responses if they are Shake based.

Thanks for any help you can give,

Gary J.

RiKToR
06-06-2009, 06:43 AM
What do you have for render passes out of maya? You may be able to get away with not going into maya again if you have alot of passes.

I think is over all the black levels of the phones in general are to dark. You may want to lift the blacks a little on the phones to match. Also something you can try is this. I added a little color push to warm into the phones and faded them over the original in a test in photoshop. This warmed up the digital to match the warm surrounding the road but also desaturated the phones a abit adding to the realism of the shot.