PDA

View Full Version : Fire Wire renderred with HDRi and Final Render

Toeng.com
05-09-2002, 04:10 PM
I just want to share my latest work :)
it's my first rather successful work after I installed final render a few days ago.

I also have a question, when I turn the opacity down from the material parameter, why does the render take a hell lot of time??? The blue caps should have been transparent :(

Any tips???

here's the pic :

Toeng.com
05-10-2002, 03:16 AM
Oh ... I used Max to make this and renderred it using Cebas Final Render. I made this model for an entry of the contest held by www.firewiredesign.co.uk and this is my first time designing a magazine cover. I had to see my Computer Arts magazine cover to come up with the composition :) ... so if you see some similarities, don't be alarmed ...

If you didn't get to see the link, here it is: FireWireDesign Mag (http://www.cis.ohio-state.edu/~wijoyo/temp/fwcontest.jpg)

Please let me know what you think ... and any tips to improve. Thank you.

tpe
05-10-2002, 06:37 AM
Toeng.comery nice but i think you should reduce the specularity and reflection mapping, the reflections on the chrome are a little much and the specularity on the plastic, perhaps you could use a map for the specularity so as it shows more where the plastic is not worn? or maybe you could ut it through a frenzel effect so as it changes withthe angle of incidence? and DOF is great for small objects so it would probably add a lot.

tpe

Toeng.com
05-10-2002, 03:23 PM
Thank you tpe ... I will fix those two things and post the updated version very soon :)

bealobo
05-10-2002, 06:45 PM
Hi!
I suggest you to dirty up a bit the wire if it is going to be grey, it will look more realistic.
Great job!

hypercube
05-10-2002, 09:38 PM
looking cool so far! Everyone's commented on the surfacing, DOF, etc. you're already very well on the way there, just a couple things I noticed model-wise.