PDA

View Full Version : Architect looking to expand my software education

archt
06-03-2009, 09:11 PM
Hi folks,

Im an architect by trade and have been practicing for about 10 years. I've been involved in 3d animation (on the architecture side of things) for a while but feel that there is more to learn from some of the great software out there.

I currently use Sketchup Pro, Podium, Viz, Photoshop, and After Effects. I'm very interested in learning Maya and other software that you folks use for your animations/game designs.

I've been looking into the Center for Digital Imaging Arts in DC into their 3D Animation certification program, anyone have any experience or opinions with this place? Also, I've seen some online ads for 3d animation, do you feel these courses are worth it?

I'd love to hear your opinions.

Thanks,
Archt

Kanga
06-04-2009, 03:16 AM
Welcome to cgtalk archt.

Fahim
07-25-2009, 07:29 PM
Hey there,
I'm an architecture student, so i understand your concern. Before studying architecure i worked with 3d softwares for 10 years. I never actually thought that my experience within 3d softwares would be that much of a help when i started my course. I'm using Maya, and i have to say that is surely has helped me a lot. Being able to show your ideas visually is critical within architecture, and the better you are at it, the more you will be able to show. When it comes to modeling, i tend to jump between Sketchup and Maya a lot.