PDA

View Full Version : Triangles - Good / Bad - Why?

CombineMind
05-26-2009, 11:27 PM
Hello all I'm new here and wanted to get the input of the community on the issue of triangles in topology.

My friend last night who is enrolled in the graphics college I graduated from was asking me why triangles were bad. I could only think of the fact that in an area that deforms durring animation, a triangle can cause pops and uneven surface shading.

My professors in college however swore by having all quads though, and I can't for the life of me remember other reasons they were so serious about the issue.

Any input is greatly appreciated, thank you!

-Dan

eldee
05-27-2009, 02:24 AM
It all depends on what you're doing with it.. if you're doing SubD modeling and not animating, tris/ngons don't really even matter, because once you subdivide everything becomes quads anyway. If you're taking it into zbrush or something like that it's different, because some software doesn't handle tris very well, but yeah.. distortion while animating/deforming is the big one.

CombineMind
05-27-2009, 03:28 AM
Ive been seeing so many triangles on game studio art on this forum Im starting to think I've been wasting time trying to be 100% quad all these years.

I have a faint memory of having trouble importing an obj to mudbox when i was in school for normal mapping, would a triangle interfere with something like that?

jakobweiq
06-17-2009, 05:20 AM
not entirely true..

to think quad is equal to 2 tri, then the time u take to render will b like doubled.. unless ur PC config is top top notch or u haf a personal render farm :D

wat my lecturer like to enforce is to always keep it simple..

PieJesu
08-07-2009, 08:19 PM
People generally try and stick to quads as edge loops can be quickly added and it subdivides better without pinching (unless you intend for it to pinch).

Laa-Yosh
08-11-2009, 02:46 PM