PDA

View Full Version : Double Dilemma

OrchaInu
05-26-2009, 06:36 AM
Well, my problem right now is probably going to be a messy one, but here it goes.

I am a recent graduate who graduated last Dec. with a MFA in animation already. Prior to graduating, I was working full time at a local VFX studio as a 3D modeler on contract. I worked about a total of 1.5 years at this studio before my contract expired, and went back to school full time to finish my degree first. While I was still working at the studio, I started to become interested in lighting and shading, and wanted to try out becoming a lighter/compositer for my next job, and got a lighter friend to teach me what I needed to know before leaving the studio. I was able to land a short gig in Asia as a lighter for a bit, but the contract was short and now I am back in the states looking for a job again.

With the current economy in the dumps, lots of experienced 3D artists out of their jobs, and the fact that 1.5 years of experience is really not experienced enough, I found it incredibly hard to find anything. Not to mention my professional experience was all in modeling instead of lighting, I am not sure if I will be able to make it. I am working on new personal projects one after another to improve my reel, but I am not sure if I can really land anything in the current state.

Should I consider going to a more famous 3D school and pursue a degree I already have just for the sake of the connections the school might have with big companies and a more focused environment for my reel? Should I give up trying to be a lighter temporarily and go back being a modeler just to get a job first? Or should I just continue what I am doing right now and wait it out?

DanielWray
05-27-2009, 08:36 PM