PDA

View Full Version : texturing dog

Cyborgguineapig
07-20-2003, 05:53 AM
ok this will sound like a real newb question but I want to go and texture a dog model I made last night. For one should it always be TGA texture format? Since a dog is symetrical, i would texture half of him longwise and then mirror his mody,correct? Should I split his body into more than one map, one for chest/head and one for hind? I'm sorry, i'm just not too experienced with this. Pretty much this is the complete newbs question for game texturing,I know the concept of it but am not sure how to accomplish it. Here is a pic:

UPDATE: See below

Cyborgguineapig
07-20-2003, 05:56 AM
ooops that the wrong picture, this is the completed model form:

EVIL
07-20-2003, 06:51 AM
I think it is best to do each leg on one side, the head and the body (maby sepperate the ears)

Cyborgguineapig
07-20-2003, 07:06 AM

Cyborgguineapig
07-20-2003, 10:45 AM
Edited :D

oXYnary
07-20-2003, 11:05 AM
I cant see the seam thus far.. you must be on the right track.

Prs-Phil
07-20-2003, 11:25 AM
yeah looks allright for me to atm, you wanna see the model that cANT is working on atm, youŽll learn something of his texture but youŽll have to wait ;)

Matt
07-20-2003, 01:57 PM
Is this for the Quake remodelling/retexturing project?

Cyborgguineapig
07-20-2003, 11:31 PM
Originally posted by Matt
Is this for the Quake remodelling/retexturing project?

No lol, its just a personal project that might never even be put into an engine. Its only just above 1000 polies and is definetely not up to 2003 standards but I need to start small for this is my second game model, I will eventually get up there.;)

Cyborgguineapig
07-21-2003, 01:22 PM
Update...what feels like too many hours for so little progress:rolleyes:

Cyborgguineapig
07-21-2003, 01:28 PM