PDA

View Full Version : Environment: Sci-Fi

JimRoberts
05-23-2009, 02:32 PM
Hey guys this is my first post on this site, I have been a lurker for a while now and have finally decided to post some stuff. I'm a 3d student studying in Auckland, New Zealand and am teaching myself how to paint.

This is pretty much my first painting using photoshop so critiques, comments etc are all welcome and appreciated. I wouldn't call this image complete as I got frustrated and gave up lol.

The most trouble I've been having is painting in detail when its not on the drawing. Also, painting colour after I paint value is giving me a lot of trouble and lastly I feel that I need to have more clarity in the image..

Cheers

http://features.cgsociety.org/newgallerycrits/g39/371039/371039_1243084792_large.jpg

felicitymoore
05-29-2009, 10:57 PM
Heyo fellow Aucklander! :thumbsup:

Your concept's looking cool. I'd definately keep working on it - the values are coming along nicely, and you've got a nice composition with the view of the exterior city there at the rear.

As far as the painting goes, it will help to figure out your color palette, which if you feel a bit stuck, check out paintings you like, a movie shot you like etc and study the palette used. For example (and this is just a random one!) if you like Alien then you might want to go for a muted palette with say mostly blues and greens...not quite that simple but maybe a helpful way to start.

Don't be gloomy if it doesn't look right straight away, it probably wont - I think painting is like sculpting on paper with color, and it takes working.