PDA

View Full Version : Creating a 'beautiful' render

SirApple
05-20-2009, 10:35 PM
Hello all! Firstly, I apologize if this thread is in the wrong section. I was a bit un-sure of where to post this. So if its moved, I understand why :).

Ok, so onto my questions.

As the title says, how do you go about creating an acceptable renderscene? Preferably with one of 3ds Max's (yes, I'm using 3dsmax 7/8/2009) available tools that are included in the software.

Currently I use a viewport shader. I'm a game artist, so, viewport shaders are good enough for me to view the model with texture maps applied. But, recently I was signed onto a Crysis mod development team, and, we are sort of looking for a new and more professional way to show our work for media news updates. Its probably suggested I ask this on http://www.game-artist.net/forums/ . But, its more suggested on that site to show your game art with viewport shaders, rather then rendering. Judging by the fantastic artwork on this website (renderscenes included), I figured its best to come here for help.

Ok so,

I'm honestly not sure even where to start. I often see people say they have like a sky light and maybe a few options checked for their renderscene setup. But, when I go and do this very same thing, I get a horrible resault, nothing like the person(s) that told me their setup. This leaves me very confused, in all honesty :).

If you look around at some of the game modification teams renders, they are more of what I (we) are going for. Forgotten Hope 2 mod team is a good example. We aren't of course looking to copy anyone, but for an examples sake, Forgotten Hope 2.. or close to the same quality. :)

So its safe to say I have no clue where to even begin with making a renderscene that meets the expectations of my above information. If any of you artists would like to help me out with a step by step guide on how to do something like I described, myself and the mod team would greatly appreciate it. :)