PDA

View Full Version : Render passes from BAT file

Alsa
05-19-2009, 04:40 AM
Hello guys

I came here because i don't know where to find what I'm looking for. I have 3 escenes with different passes that I want to render from a BAT file but I don't know how to do that. I know the flag is -rp but I'm not sure how to use it.

I mean, I've created a .bat file that renders both scenes but it renders them using maya software instead of using MR. The -r mr flag is not working (or maybe I'm not doing it well) and now I have even more problems becuase I need MR and the AOC and luminance passes.

I know my render settings are correct because I batch rendered one scene and everything was OK, but whenever I go and try using a BAT file it goes crazy.

Is there any flag so it renders with the render settings?
How do i use MR in a .bat file?
How do I render passes with a .bat file?

I'm kinda new to all this, but I'm highly interested on learning it, so if you have any info/tips/tutos/links to share I will really aprecciate it.

Thanks in advance.

chronic
05-19-2009, 04:56 AM
here is an example:

set MAYA2009x64="C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Maya2009\bin\render.exe"

%MAYA2009x64% -r mr -rt 4 -v 5 -s 139 -e 150 -cam RC -rl bkgdLayer,charLayer -rp basePass,AOPass -rd "F:\PROJECTS\test\test_COMP\Frames" -proj "F:\PROJECTS\test\test_MAYA" "F:\PROJECTS\test\test_MAYA\scenes\test_scene.ma"

remember, no spaces between the layers listed in the -rl tag or the -rp tag

simply list multiple calls to the render.exe one after another to render multiple scenes

chronic
05-19-2009, 04:58 AM
know what, just take my .bat, i use this alot, and it has some useful info.

NOTE: designed for windows x64 systems, check all paths please.

also, it really helps readability, even for simple batch code, to use an editor with syntax highlighting like notepad++

doffer
05-19-2009, 07:21 AM
Hey Chronic :)

Thanks a lot for the .bat.
I didn't know about the color coding and error-checking.