PDA

View Full Version : More than 3 joints...

Quizboy
07-18-2003, 12:57 PM
Hi,

I'm a newbie who wants to make a simply modeled but very flexible character. How do I go about making an IK handle that has more than 3 joints? I don't exactly want the spline effect. Actually what I want to achieve is a leg just like a human, that moves normally speaking just like a human's leg. But then I want an additional joint in the middle of the thigh and an additional joint in the calf, so that I can manually and arbritarily adjust these at times. But then I still want the IK joint that animates from the heel and bends at the knee - like a normal leg, but not normal.

Thanks!

loked
07-18-2003, 07:09 PM
Hey,

One way to do this, which might seems a little bit hard at first, is to create 2 skeletons. On skeleton has a pelvis joint, a knee joint and an ankle joint. The other skeleton has all those same joints plus the additional ones you mentioned. Then you use the first skeleton for IK's and the second one with the extra joints must be orient constrained to its respective joints on the ik skeleton. This way, the skeleton with all the joints will be controlled by a simpler IK skeleton.

Let me know if this is not clear are you dont know how to do this.

later:wavey:
loked

Quizboy
07-19-2003, 06:40 PM
Hi, this does seem clear but i do not know how to do this...i mean i know how to make the two skeletons. i've actually already made two skeletons just trying things out. but to attach them...i think this is ideally what i am looking for.

in fact now all of a sudden my skeleton is actually allowing me to create an IK handle over 5 joints. i don't know why it wasn't working before...anyway the result is that i get one long bend in the joint when i move the handle. This may actually be desirable, but i have to play with it a little more and compare the version without where i get a more defined knee...