PDA

View Full Version : Animation: First attempt at lifting

Aluuk
07-18-2003, 12:30 AM
I am trying to put together a few animations to submit to an animation class that has a portfolio review to get in. I am very new to animation, but I still want to attempt it. This is my first attempt at having a character lift something heavy. Please critique the heck out of it. Please help me get into the class!!!

Software: Maya 4.5

Lift Version 1 (http://www.sora-ent.com/jeffers/3d/Balltest.avi)

halogenic139
07-18-2003, 01:08 AM
maybe put in a dummy object for him to be lifting, that would make it a little easier to crit it..

also, i would make some blendshapes for the face, because when people lift things, their faces change

mefestofel
07-18-2003, 03:35 AM
for starters the item he is lifting doesn't feel heavy at all it comes up smotth with little trouble. I would sugest doeing some listion in front of a mirror to see how balance is shifted when you lift something heavy.

Also i would do something with the face. He should be straining, it doesn't look like it with his bland expresion. Hope this helps

Aluuk
07-19-2003, 10:19 AM
Here is a new version of the lift. I am using a dummy object this time to try and give you a better ability to crit it. Hopefully it helps.

I know he should be closing his eyes and straining, but this model has no facial blendshapes, or eye lid controls.... =0(

Thanks for the comments so far!!!

(requires Divx)
Lift Version 2 (http://www.sora-ent.com/jeffers/3d/Balltest6.avi)

webfox
07-19-2003, 05:09 PM
There's a lot of improvement between the first and second test. Many things should still be considered.

The hands shouldn't rotate around the ball as he picks it up. They should be locked into place on the surface of it.

The elbows should change angle as he picks it up.

The hold might last a little longer as he assesses how heavy the ball is.