PDA

View Full Version : Jimmy and the Gypsy

CircusRobot
05-14-2009, 01:28 AM
http://features.cgsociety.org/newgallerycrits/g93/377693/377693_1242259526_large.jpg

I know it's kinda late in the game for a critique but I just joined yesterday. Anyway, several things don't feel right and my hunch is the compostiion just isn't very dynamic. This is really just practice for me since I'm really new to digital painting/illustration so please critique my technique, and color usage as well, or give general painting tips that may apply. I'm just a student at a small art school in Texas so I need all the help I can get!

Thanks in advance!

acb12
05-14-2009, 09:01 AM
well first of all i gotta say i rly like your pic and the idea of it ^_^
now 1 thing concerning the things you drew -what is that small thing with the umbrella flying next to this gipsy woman ^_^ ? just out of curiousity ^_^

well concerning the pic-
i rly like the style yuve applied here and about the stage of the pic i think now its just on insisting on the fine details cuz i dont think (on my opinion at least ) that there needs to be and drastic change so now its only playing with the fine details and maybe lightning ^_^

i think you could try maybe adding some dark shadow(not much but making it darker at the tips of thee image) on the upper part of the pic (above the window and next to the images and sofas on both size )to maybe try focusing the viewer on the highlighted area cuz im guessing thats the part where you want it to focus on and maybe playing with the darks and lights of the chars for better emphasizing the places you want the viewer to go .

rly looking forward for updates ^_^

CircusRobot
05-14-2009, 09:20 PM
http://features.cgsociety.org/newgallerycrits/g93/377693/377693_1242332969_large.jpg