PDA

View Full Version : Not contecnt with my education.

Eklectique
05-12-2009, 09:06 PM
Hi! I already had an account here, but I guess it must have been erased because I didn't use quite a lot... Anyway, It's good to have a new one and I would appreciate it if you people gave me some advice.

The situation is this:

I'm currently studying a mayor in Moving Graphics (not actually a mayor, I live in Mexico and this is kind of the equivalent). We, pretty much study 3D production and animation. Some graphic design, Audio Visual production and little to none 2D animation. We study pretty much a little of everything there is to know about moving graphics.

We've learned some Maya, Some 3DsMax, Some Zbruh, Some Animation Master, Some Pro- Animator, Some Phontographer, Some Flash, some Toon Boom, Some Clay animation, Some sound production, Some physical visual effects, etc...

The problem is:

I feel like I know nothing at all! I'm desperate, I feel like all three years I've spent there have been in vain. I see the work of other people and compare it to my own and feel frustrated. I'm not a great anything and I have no impressive work to put in my portfolio and, today, I decided I want to change that.

Please advice on:

What can I do? What books can I read? What online courses can I take? What do I have to practice first?

I can't leave school, as much as I'd love to, I'm almost over there and I do want my degree. Is this normal? What's your specialty and how did you become good at it?

I personally want to specialize in animation, both 3D and 2D but 2D character animation is what I love the most.

Thanks in advance for any advice you can give me.

Kanga
05-13-2009, 01:50 PM