PDA

View Full Version : lightwave newbie

lou.cifer
07-17-2003, 04:01 PM
Hi all. I am new to lightwave. I have been using Max for a while. Is there a way to select the edge of a poly, like in max? In LW, I can only select a face or verts(points). I'm havin some trouble with thier interface. Thanks for any help.

sensai2nd
07-17-2003, 04:17 PM
Nope . . . LW doesn't natively support edges. However, you can get a sweet plugin called "EdgeTools" over at Flay.com, which'll suit your needs just fine . . .

terryford
07-17-2003, 04:20 PM
No edges in LightWave. What are you trying to do with the edge? Try searching for "edge" on Flay.com, there's probably a tool to do what you want;

http://www.flay.com/getentry.cfm

Regards,
Terry

JuggleNuts
07-17-2003, 06:34 PM
lou.cifer I would suggest registering at www.3dbuzz.com and look in their downloads section. They have 9 free lighwave videos you can grab, and it covers all the basics over lightwave (going through the interface, some terminology, etc). It's really quite good for beginners to LW.

lou.cifer
07-17-2003, 08:27 PM
Thanks for all your quick responses. In Max, I have a way of modeling that fits me well. I start with a single plane and shift drag an edge to make polys. It seems slow, but I find it easier than splines or box modeling.

robinson
07-17-2003, 08:46 PM
you should try extender, or better search for extender at flay.com, "these extra script are better than the standard," that's the same way !!!
Check out a few modeling tutorials, you will discover all the great modeling tools in Lightwave very fast !!! :thumbsup:

lou.cifer
07-17-2003, 09:11 PM
I tried extender,and is seems like it works, but after I extend an edge, I get polys on both sides. As for edge tool on Flay, I dont know how to install it because I cant read the instructions.

terryford
07-17-2003, 10:01 PM
Get this one, FI's_OEXtender;

http://www.infoseek.livedoor.com/~f_ichikawa/index2.html