PDA

View Full Version : SCAD vs. ETSU

Stuckinaboxthere
05-12-2009, 02:33 AM
I am a soon-to-be animation major at either of these schools, problem is, I can't decide on which has better benefits. On one hand SCAD has a reputation for a fantastic education, but is extravagantly expensive, but on the other hand, ETSU does not have nearly as much acclaim but is far more affordable. there have been other schools as well such as AAU and Ringling. The only thing that sets these apart is the cost, I would much prefer to go to SCAD than others. I would love to hear what you all think is the solution and your opinions on the price differences of the schools.

Hyjaxe
05-20-2009, 05:06 AM
I am currently a student in their animation program and ETSU is a joke. If you take a look at the coursework, they litter it with so much garbarge.

Their instructors are no short of being complete failure, help is very minimal and you will find that teaching yourself is the best route to go.

I'd prefer to try the various workshops they advertise on here, as you can get help through actual professionals in the industry. ETSU does not have this.

takoayako
05-20-2009, 05:14 AM
I do not recommend ETSU to anyone, it's a joke. You do projects every two weeks and the professors don't really teach you. They "guide" you in a "direction". Everyone gets A's or B's, even the people who barely touched the assignment get an 85. Critiques are an even bigger joke. They just sit around and talk about it, they don't critique it. No one really improved through critiques. It was just a wasted class day.

ETSU IS cheaper, but there are no benefits that make going there worthwhile. Save yourself the trouble and don't bother going to ETSU. Everyone here just thinks they're the shit and are a part of a stupid ass club that just sits around and soaks up each other's "awesomness".