PDA

View Full Version : Displacement map problem

creationtwentytwo
05-09-2009, 09:02 PM
Hi there,

I'm pretty new to Zbrush but have been getting some nice results from playing around with it.

I've made a couple of models purely in Zbrush, beginning with Zspheres and then sculpting the mesh.

I've now got a model with 6 Subdivision levels which I want to export to either 3DS Max or C4D (either is fine).

I just cannot begin to figure out how to get the displacement maps out. I've searched all over the web for tutorials or guides and while I have found plenty, they are usually either written for outdated versions or just cover the subject lightly.

I'm using Zbrush 3.12 on Mac and one big problem I'm finding is that a lot of the guides say to use the Tool > Texture for some of the steps, yet I don't have that paletter, I only have Tool>Texture Map which doesn't contain the buttons they refer to.

I have managed to get a disp map out and into Cinema 4D but when I apply it in C4D it doesn't resemble anything even close to what it did in Zbrush so I'm pretty sure I'm doing something wrong.

This is as far as I've got:

1. Create model in Zbrush.
2. Drop to lowest level of SubD and Export OBJ.
3. Choose number of SubD's in Tool>Displacement and click 'Create DispMap'
4. Click 'Clone DisMap' and from the Alpha palette, export it as PSD / TIFF file.
5. Open OBJ in C4D, add PSD / TIFF Displacement Map to texture
6. Play around with settings on DispMap all to no avail
7. Pull hair out.

I'm running out of patience (and hair) with this so if someone could either point me in the direction of a comprehensive guide that doesn't refer to the non-existent Tool>Texture palette, or alternatively give me a idiot-proof step by step then I would be most appreciative.

Like I say, instructions for either C4D or Max are fine as I use both and to be honest have no preference at this stage while I'm still getting to know the software.

Many thanks

Totyo
05-11-2009, 07:50 AM
Hi :)