PDA

View Full Version : Many instances with SDK


Davy
04-29-2009, 09:28 PM
Hi,

Wondering if I will gain a lot of speed improvement when I want to instance many objects by using the SDK instead of maxscript?
I have a lot of maxscript experience but want to move to the SDK as well to be able to takle more serious tasks.

I want to instance objects at render time and if I do it through maxscript it slows down towards the end of instancing exponentially, not speaking of going beyond 10k objects.

Will I get better performance when I code it with the SDK?

Thanks,
Davy

ulb
04-30-2009, 01:21 AM
I am also just beginning to experiment with the sdk, and also willing to generate instances at rendertime. (must be a belgian thing :D)

My first experience is that if I add nodes to the scene, it takes almost the same time as in maxscript.

Basically what I want is to be able to render something without adding it directly to the scene.

Hopefully someone more experienced will be able to give us the right direction, or if I find anything I'll tell you here.

guruware
04-30-2009, 04:09 PM
if i remember correct...
when creating instances with sdk viewports are redrawn after creating an instance
so, crate 100 instances -> 100 redraws
use
GetCOREInterface()->DisableSceneRedraw();
GetCOREInterface()->EnableSceneRedraw();

might be same in MXS

guruware

Davy
04-30-2009, 04:27 PM
...yes that's not what will help for true performance.

The question is more if one can create instances at render time without having them actually in the scene so you can overcome max viewport issues?
So only the render engine will get them.

Just trying to get an idea of possibilities.

Davy

ps. Maybe it is a Belgium thing ;)

CGTalk Moderation
04-30-2009, 04:27 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.