PDA

View Full Version : Maya Batch Rendering Issues


olson889
04-28-2009, 11:29 PM
I have been having trouble making a demo video of my T-rex model. It's really high poly, but it renders fine and the batch render works and it doesn't even take that long, but for some reason during some of the frames it appears to fade as if it were getting dark. I've tried rendering it multiple times and it doesn't help. I am using maya software by the way.

here is what it looks like:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ursxmsaSSPQ

Agent X
04-29-2009, 12:40 AM
I think that is just the shadow. Have you placed any lights in the scene? if you haven't try putting some in there, one on either side and see if that works.

olson889
04-29-2009, 12:52 AM
thanks for replying

I kinda thought that as well and I added some lights and it worked, but it didn't look very good and I didn't really want to spend a ton of time lighting the scene. I guess I assumed there was just a default way to render out a rotation without any shadows or anything

Agent X
04-29-2009, 03:05 AM
i think what you want is Ambient Occlusion. That would be the simplest way of getting the result.

here's a tutorial:
http://emciem.deviantart.com/art/maya-mental-ray-a-o-tutorial-54714863

I have never used this particular tut, but at a glance, it covers everything pretty well. Hope it helps.

derik
04-29-2009, 10:25 AM
instead of rotating the camera , just rotate your model
(Then lighting stays relative to camera angle)

CGTalk Moderation
04-29-2009, 10:25 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.