PDA

View Full Version : Zbrush to Maya normal mapping - help!

danshewan
04-28-2009, 08:31 PM
Hey guys,

I'm pretty new to generating normal maps in ZBrush, and I'm wondering if someone can help me out with a pretty persistent problem I've been encountering.

I've been creating base meshes in Maya, exporting them out as .obj files, then sculpting detail in ZBrush. So far, all good. It's when I start using ZMapper that the trouble begins.

Below is a shot of the kind of detail I'm trying to achieve - a simple wood grain effect, with some screws / bolts and what-have-you.

http://img219.imageshack.us/img219/1782/zbrushdetail.jpg

In ZMapper, I'm using pretty much the standard settings. I've made sure the resulting image is inversed, and I've set Display to tangent space normal maps. I then export the resulting map out, and import it into Maya, and I'm presented with a less-than desirable result:

http://img219.imageshack.us/img219/664/bumpdepth1.jpg

As you can see, the bolt detail is lost completely, and the only way I've found to reduce the harshness of the black lines that run along the edges is to reduce the bump depth to around 0.4, which surely I shouldn't have to do?

Maybe I'm missing something really elementary, but I'd appreciate any help anyone can offer. Are my settings in ZMapper incorrect, or is it a Maya problem?

Thanks in advance.

ambient-whisper
04-29-2009, 03:35 AM
try to invert green. or switch red and green, etc. theres a few things you could try. some apps read normal maps differently so you always need to do this between engines.

danshewan
04-29-2009, 09:20 AM
try to invert green. or switch red and green, etc. theres a few things you could try. some apps read normal maps differently so you always need to do this between engines.