PDA

View Full Version : color palette for 3d artist

RBoscacci
04-26-2009, 06:42 AM
I'm starting a project for a client doing a bunch of charts and graphs. I'm mainly a 3d artist so I will be doing much of the work in 3D Studio Max. Before I start the client wants me to submit a palette of the colors I will be using for the project to establish a uniform look across all the graphics. I come to doing 3d work from the TV and Film production side and don't have a formal art training so I'm not sure how to handle this, I've never encountered this before. Are there any good reference or tools for creating a palette?

soulburn3d
04-26-2009, 05:09 PM
Could you explain a little more about the type of project? What will these charts and graphs be for? Who is the people who will be seeing these graphs? Honestly, this could be as simple as someone asking to see you pick 3 colors that go well together. There are a few pieces of software that can help you come up with palettes, check this site out for example...

http://colorschemedesigner.com/

This sounds like a more corporate job, so you may not need to get into the whole "colors representing emotion" thing. I'd say figure out how many colors you need, and present them with an example graph using a set of colors that work well with each other. Good luck.

- Neil

RBoscacci
04-26-2009, 06:28 PM
Thanks Neil! I think that is exactly what I'm looking for. The project I'm working on is a documentary promoting vegan lifestyle. So I'm guessing I want to start with some sort of green as my primary color on that color chart. I guess I have some research to do on what the different scheme mean(i.e. triad, analogic, etc).

soulburn3d
04-26-2009, 06:56 PM
The project I'm working on is a documentary promoting vegan lifestyle. So I'm guessing I want to start with some sort of green as my primary color on that color chart. I guess I have some research to do on what the different scheme mean(i.e. triad, analogic, etc).