PDA

View Full Version : Relighting a live action fire scene in shake?

glenns0245
04-25-2009, 08:47 AM
So I have a scene in a student film I am working on that revolves around a campfire... the camp we were filming in didn't allow large fires on the grounds. because of this, we're forced to come up with another solution. so i had them shoot all the live action using 1k keno lights to give the characters all a diffuse light to start with, now i want to layer some type of color correction to add the lighting and flickering from the fire.

my idea so far is to multiply a ramp by a random and mask it out with a roto, then lay it over the original footage... i was thinking of maybe locking a camera off looking at a flat grid with procedural flames on it, both color and alpha, then layer that over the original? mind you, im a houdini artist, so shake is all greek to me...

my real question is how would you go about doing this? am i on the right track... at all? is there an easier more efficient? and where can i learn some shake script? thanks in advance guys!

DoubleSupercool
04-29-2009, 07:19 AM
I'd say, first, shoot some (or find some) reference material! My first thoughts are that you could probably get away with something quite simple to just give the overall effect of the lighting shifts, rather than getting bogged down and making it too complex.

Gestalt is key in matte painting and compositing - the unified look of all the elements gives a greater effect than the individual elements of effects themselves.

As for the intensity, most compositing apps will let you do a pixel analysis of footage. So for example, you could get some footage of real flames, blur them quite heavily (so the pixel analysis doesn't have to work so hard) and analyse the luminance. You can then plug those figures into your colour correction/brightness to get the flickering effect

SeaJackal
04-29-2009, 12:55 PM
So the lighting on the characters is more or less flat?