PDA

View Full Version : Debugging a scene


JHN
04-24-2009, 11:06 AM
Hi all,

Max is telling me I have a problem in a scene (which I can't post publicly unfortunately), where when I open the scene I get a:

>> MAXScript Script Controller Exception: -- Unknown system exception <<
>> MAXScript Script Controller Exception: -- Unknown system exception <<

+ 2 popups saying the same thing

Now the problem is there are no script controllers in the scene... but there are quite a bunch of wires "floating" around (yes, pun intended).

So I'm iterating over all the wires, but I can't seem to find anything out of the ordinary.
Does anyone have anything to say regarding float_wires (single way!, no 2ways) or other stuff that can cause to throw an error like that?
There's like 80 wire controllers now and only 2 error messages. And everything seems to work ok, I don't see object that don't work... so I'm a bit clueless right now.

Any tip of hints will be great!!

-Johan

JHN
04-24-2009, 02:44 PM
Ok,

It's not the floatwires, it's the custom attributes I have been using.

I have multiple CA's on objects which give the errors.
Could someone please try this on a simple object, save the scene and reopen it.


(

local WeightsSetup
WeightsSetup = attributes WeightsSetupCA
(
parameters main
(
oOffsetNode type:#maxObject
bOffsetNodeSwap type:#boolTab tabSize:3

p3DefPos type:#point3 animatable:false default:[0,0,0]

oWeightNodes type:#maxObjectTab tabSizeVariable:true
fXWeights type:#floatTab tabSizeVariable:true
fYWeights type:#floatTab tabSizeVariable:true
bSwap type:#boolTab tabSizeVariable:true

oXform type:#maxObject
)
)

em = emptymodifier name:#WeightsSetup

custAttributes.add em WeightsSetup #unique
custAttributes.makeUnique em WeightsSetup

addModifier selection[1] em

)



If I reopen the scene, I get the a fore mentioned errors, and it's totally driving me crazy, can't see what I do wrong here...

Thanks,
-Johan

LoneRobot
04-24-2009, 02:51 PM
it's working fine for me Johan, :shrug: , and I can't see anything glaring in what you've written.

JHN
04-24-2009, 03:10 PM
Even if you reopen the scene?
Could you assign it it 2 or more objects and save and reopen and tell me there's still no problem!?

Thanks,
-Johan

LoneRobot
04-24-2009, 03:28 PM
must be something else J, still no issues with me. (BTW i'm running max2009 x64 SP1 on xpx64)

eek
04-24-2009, 03:37 PM
The only thing i see is this:

em = emptymodifier name:#WeightsSetup

custAttributes.add em WeightsSetup #unique
custAttributes.makeUnique em WeightsSetup

addModifier selection[1] em

so your defining a global empty modifier.
and you you adding your definition to it, so its global scope.
Then your making it unique. - I think this will throw an error. Theres something about making a global object unique it this context. (in max 8 anyhow)


I will test this at work and see if my theory is correct.

JHN
04-24-2009, 03:42 PM
Pete, thanks(!) running same specs here... so it must be something with my setup.

Eek, I see what you are saying, but that's not the part that's throwing me errors. It's after reloading a scene and the assiging code doesn't come into play.

Thanks for checking!

-Johan

CGTalk Moderation
04-24-2009, 03:42 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.