PDA

View Full Version : How to install the DEVKIT correctly?

AtrusDni
04-24-2009, 01:39 AM
Hey guys, im new to the API and im trying to isntall the devkit Maya Plugin Wizard for visual studio. Im pretty lost. In the instructions it says:

Unzip MayaPluginWizard2.0.zip

Copy these files to "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\vcprojects":
MayaPluginWizard.vsdir
MayaPluginWizard.vsz
MayaPluginWizard.ico

Copy the MayaPluginWizard directory to "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\VCWizards"

Start Microsoft Visual Studio 8 and invoke File -> New -> Project -> Visual C++ Projects and select MayaPluginWizard.

Alrighty, seems straight forward enough . . . although the folders it tells me to put the files in dont exist in the first place . . .

Secondly, it doesnt show up in the new projects selection when I start Visual Studio . . .

Anyone who has got this setup and would like to shed some light on this subject, it would be much appreciated.

Oh and for the record, im using Maya 2009 with Visual Studio 8 / 2005. Is this an issue, or is this the correct IDE that I should be using?

saedAbdelhafez
04-24-2009, 03:43 AM
hay Dude
1- make sure you installed the VC++ from VS2008/2005.

2- in order for the Maya Plugin Wizard to work i made some changes on it.

edit the file named MayaPluginWizard.vsz

and replace wuts in side it with :

VSWIZARD 7.0
Wizard=VsWizard.VsWizardEngine.9.0

Param="WIZARD_NAME = MayaPluginWizard"
Param="FALLBACK_LCID = 1033"
Param="MANAGED = FALSE"

AtrusDni
04-24-2009, 04:43 AM
Thanks for the reply, Max-Saed-Hulk. I will try what you recommended.

In the instructions it says to put the files into specific folders in the Visual Studio folder, but those folders dont exist on my machine, so I had to make them by hand. Did you have to do this as well? Or did those folders exist for you?

AtrusDni
04-24-2009, 04:45 AM
I tried the above code, and it still doesn't show up . . . :cry:

saedAbdelhafez
04-24-2009, 06:06 AM