PDA

View Full Version : Gmax - > Fbx ?


rebo
07-14-2003, 12:40 AM
Does anyone know if there is an way to export FBX from gmax 1.2? Will one of the 3dmax exporter plugins work?

rebo
07-14-2003, 01:23 AM
Actually never mind, just found out gmax is a stupid nonsense when it comes to export. And cant even export to obj. I think discreet has done this deliberately.

jipe
07-14-2003, 02:53 AM
Yes, they did it deliberately - their plan is to get game developers to license the gmax SDK in order to develop a plugin that will export to their particular game, so people can make levels/mods. Doesn't seem to be catching on, however..

rebo
07-14-2003, 03:25 AM
There was me thinking discreet was being nice and giving people a free low poly modeller. I guess ill never learn.

/me goes back to wings3d and their nice shiney new FBX exporter =]

CGTalk Moderation
01-15-2006, 03:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.