PDA

View Full Version : particle position


leecobra
04-19-2009, 07:21 PM
This is now driving me mad I am creating a scene with a wall of tiles and I want the particles to be in the exact same position as each of my tiles. then I will blow them off the wall. However for the life of me I cannot get the particles to spawn exactly where my tiles should be.

Below is an example of what I mean, the blue tiles are where I want my particles to spawn exactly orientated to that position. I also need to be able to have the particles vary in speed and rotation once they leave the wall surface. However I just cannot seem to figure it out. I am embarrassed that I do not know how to do this
http://img21.imageshack.us/img21/8478/tilesh.jpg

Thank you for any help.

Piflik
04-19-2009, 07:45 PM
You can do that when you use 'Selected Vertices' as Location in the 'Position Object' Operator. However it is not granted that you get exactly one Particle per Vertex...at least this is what I have experienced.

Another possibility would be a Birth Script. You'll have to create objects at the position where you want to have the tiles (should be very simple using Array) and then loop through them in the script and create a particle each time.

Something like this (no guarantees though...):


On channels used pCont do
(
pCont.useTM = true
pCont.UseAge = true
)

On init pCont do
(
global TilesPosition = $Tile* as array
)

On proceed pCont do
(
t = pCont.getTimeStart() as float

if t < 0 do
(
NumParts = ObjectsArray.count
for i = 1 to NumParts do
(
pCont.AddParticle()
pCont.particleIndex = pCont.NumParticles()
pCont.particleAge = 0
pCont.particleTM = TilesPosition[i].transform
)
)
)
on release pCont do
(
)

This should create one Particle at each 'Tile' object's Pivot.

JohnnyRandom
04-19-2009, 08:25 PM
You can do that when you use 'Selected Vertices' as Location in the 'Position Object' Operator. However it is not granted that you get exactly one Particle per Vertex...at least this is what I have experienced.

This works best with vertices all and getting the object property vert count, use separation in the pos object op for good measure.

charleyc
04-20-2009, 12:41 AM
When using the Separation to get a single particle at each vert, make sure that the separation distance is less than the smallest distance between your verts..if in out, use a very small number :)

leecobra
04-21-2009, 02:47 PM
Thank you for the help guys, I will give those ideas a try. :applause:

avolution
05-05-2009, 08:33 PM
Use the Position Object + Operator from orbaz.com; set to ALL VERTEXES.


Thank you for the help guys, I will give those ideas a try. :applause:

CGTalk Moderation
05-05-2009, 08:33 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.