PDA

View Full Version : obejct dissolve


zummi
04-19-2009, 05:50 PM
Is there an easy way to make an object appear piece by piece.
I have quite complex obejct and i want this to kind like self build itself.
Bject what i have done is similar to this:http://images.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://www.designboom.com/contest/files/copy_0_octocube.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.designboom.com/contest/view.php%3Fcontest_pk%3D14%26item_pk%3D10307%26p%3D1&usg=__2HijUrHc3XD0UMgT0X0bWQCRnuM=&h=700&w=600&sz=62&hl=et&start=1&sig2=8sPgoluU4qC36Hu3gG3CXA&um=1&tbnid=lj7SfsAo9xtycM:&tbnh=140&tbnw=120&prev=/images%3Fq%3Doctocube%26hl%3Det%26client%3Dopera%26rls%3Det%26sa%3DN%26um%3D1&ei=jwvrSY_bGYaQjAe98aj3Aw and i want this to appear pice by piece but as it contains 512 separate pieces then i am a little bit stuck.
Any help welcome.

erikals
05-15-2009, 01:33 AM
make the model in 1 layer, make sure it is uwelded in the right places
(so that it has seperate pieces)

now run the distribute plugin that comes with crackit
http://www.lwplugindb.com/Plugin.aspx?id=5754803d

this will automatically copy each piece to it's own layer.
(so you will have 150 layers or so i guess)

now bring the model to layout

in layout open the scene editor
select all the different pieces (objects)
click on property, change from "bone basics" to "object render options"
here you have "object dissolve"

click on the envelope "E" and start setting the percentage and frames.

sorry, fastest way i can think of at the moment.

erikals
05-15-2009, 02:09 AM
just a video of the dissolve process done in the scene editor,
http://www.newtek.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=73403&d=1242349605

btw, also posted the question here,
http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?p=883643#post883643

zummi
05-15-2009, 07:30 PM
Thanks for the reply.
The way you showed is a bit faster than the way i did it eventually.
I ended up with 500 layers each containing 1 pece of an object and from there ia just manually opened each one properties and entered the dissolve values.
I tried to come up with somesort of a plugin or expression witch basiccly repeats itself:
The idea was: tie the dissolve expression to a null and then have a plugin what selects the object and applies the expression.because they dont change all at once but like this:
object 1 dissolve from 100 to 0 over the frames of 0 to 10, object 2 dissolve from 100 to 0 over the frames of 5 to 15 and so on.

CGTalk Moderation
05-15-2009, 07:30 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.