PDA

View Full Version : "visible ray of light bouncing from mirrors" simulation

hellashello
04-16-2009, 08:28 AM
Hi I am an architect and for an experiment I need to simulate this in 3d max.

like a ray of light coming from a laser pointer and hitting a mirror then bouncing from there to another mirror and goes on like this...

I made the scene using a direct light with added volume light effect. I can create the ray of light effect but it wont bounce from mirrors..

do I need to use a photometric light for it to bounce? I tried it with indirect illumination too but it didnt make any difference...

thanks

playmesumch00ns
04-16-2009, 11:04 AM
Why are you trying to do this with light? Why not geometry. That's going to be much, much easier.

playmesumch00ns
04-16-2009, 11:10 AM
Sorry, I just re-read your post and the word "experiment" jumped out at me this time. I assumed you meant it was for a job.

Basically, this is not going to happen. What you're simulating when the light scatters from the volume after bouncing is a caustic, and caustic light paths are tricky, especially when involving multiple specular bounces.

A path tracer like maxwell, fryrender or indigo *might* resolve this, but it will be guaranteed to take a very, very long time.

What exactly are you trying to achieve?

hellashello
04-16-2009, 12:57 PM
I have to design a building mostly made of glass, which will be semi transparent and will be reflecting around %50 of the light that comes on it, and the shape of the building is a very irregular form basicly looking like a mountain made by crystals (like crytal things you collect in computer games)
this process is essential to me to estimate the light and the heat that will be generated inside the glass cage after the reflections and refractions.

I can guess it already drawing by hand but I wanted to see it like how it would happen in real life