PDA

View Full Version : What to do after graduation...

Kaneage
04-09-2009, 04:36 PM
Hey,

I'm currently in my second year doing Multimedia at Nottingham Trent (UK). I'd ideally like to follow on to character animation.

I have a few choices in mind to do after I graduate, either go to Bournemouth for a masters in animation, or follow onto a similar 12 week course in Denmark. I've looked at AnimationMentor, would love to do that but it's far too expensive.

Does anyone have any advice they can give me? or have any other options I could consider?

Thanks!

JesseGraffam
04-10-2009, 06:22 AM
if your work is good enough, why not try to enter the industry. You'll learn more on the job in one month than you will in 1 year of school.

eldee
04-10-2009, 10:46 AM
your reel is everything. there is no company out there that will ever look at your transcripts.. they just don't care. You could have straight A's and still be a terrible animator, they want evidence that you understand the concepts of animation. If you know how to animate- put a reel together, just some standard exercises.. you don't have to do a pixar style short film. IE: box lift, run cycle (relative and in place), emotion switches (or gear change, depending on what you call it), etc.

long story short, if you can animate already, there's nothing an extra year of school is going to give you that you don't already have.

PS: you mentioned animation in your post, so I assume you're either studying or interested in animation.. but if you're going for compositing, modeling, technical, whatever.. the same thing applies.

DanielWray
04-10-2009, 10:52 AM
I agree with the above, if you believe your work is strong enough then put a demo reel together. However if you think that you need to learn more in order to be more confident when putting your reel together and applying for jobs then a further year of studying purely animation would be very good.