PDA

View Full Version : Max 2010 and scritped plugin errors.


PEN
04-07-2009, 04:33 PM
I have many scripted plugins that are usually loading from a sub directory of the plugins folder. In Max 2010 I'm getting unknown errors on all of them and they don't load. How ever they evaluate just fine in Max. Any one know what is going on? Chris?

ZeBoxx2
04-07-2009, 06:17 PM
I don't suppose there's more details to these 'unknown errors'? :o

PEN
04-07-2009, 06:25 PM
Here are a couple things that I have found. It is only simpleObject class plugins that are causing the problem. If I move them from the plugins folder to the scripts/startup it works as it should but I don't want them loading from there. They are currently being used in productions in Max 9, 2008 and 2009 from the plugins folder without a problem.

PEN
04-07-2009, 06:26 PM
Sorry, this is the full error message and a filein error in the listener. "Unknown System Exception"

ZeBoxx2
04-11-2009, 12:02 AM
I just tried with the Tower example in the SimpleObject scripted plugin section; no issues with loading that from plugin folders on startup (i.e. placed in <max>\Plugins\ with that path added in plugin.ini ). 2010x32+that hotfix

AlpineMan
04-12-2009, 03:39 AM
Take this script:
(see attached)
(
local fileName = GetSourceFileName()
format "File Loaded: %\n" fileName
)

and place three copies of it in the following locations:
1. scripts/startup
2. stdplugs/stdscripts
3. plugins

When I do this for Max 2009 (SP1) 64 bit I get the following:

File Loaded: C:\Program Files\Autodesk\3ds Max 2009\stdplugs\stdscripts\_script_load.ms
File Loaded: C:\Program Files\Autodesk\3ds Max 2009\plugins\_script_load.ms
File Loaded: C:\Program Files\Autodesk\3ds Max 2009\scripts\startup\_script_load.ms

What do you get for Max 2010 ?

AlpineMan
04-12-2009, 03:40 AM
I have many scripted plugins that are usually loading from a sub directory of the plugins folder. In Max 2010 I'm getting unknown errors on all of them and they don't load. How ever they evaluate just fine in Max. Any one know what is going on? Chris?

Sorry, this is the full error message and a filein error in the listener. "Unknown System Exception"



Hm... any chance you can send over an exact replica of your max install?
Or perhaps better, a small reproducible script?

ZeBoxx2
04-12-2009, 09:05 AM
Take this script and place three copies of it in the following locations:
What do you get for Max 2010 ?

I placed it in a few places and added some callback bits to see where they would get loaded...

-- scripts loaded as part of plugin locations
File Loaded: %maxroot%\stdplugs\stdscripts\_script_load.ms
File Loaded: %maxroot%\PlugIns\_script_load.ms
File Loaded: %localappdata%\%usermax%\Plugins\_script_load.ms
-- max ui work
RV: #redrawViews @ 35952595
GE: #viewportChange @ 35953216 (x16)
RV: #redrawViews @ 35955479
GE: #viewportChange @ 35955559
-- plugins initialized by gui work (viewport shaders and the like)
GE: #pluginLoaded @ 35955599
//MetalBump9.dlu
GE: #pluginLoaded @ 35955609
//DxMaterial.dlt
GE: #pluginLoaded @ 35955619
//DxDDS.bmi
-- more ui work
GE: #viewportChange @ 35956911 (x4)
RV: #redrawViews @ 35956941
-- max has finished starting (liar)
GE: #postSystemStartup @ 35957392
-- startup scripts
File Loaded: %maxroot%\scripts\startup\_script_load.ms
File Loaded: %localappdata%\%usermax%\scripts\startup\_script_load.ms
-- material editor init
GE: #mtlRefAdded @ 35957422
Material #1:Standard
Material #1:Standard
GE: #mtlRefDeleted @ 35957432
Material #1:Standard
GE: #mtlRefDeleted @ 35957422
-- etc, them more viewport work
GE: #viewportChange @ 35958654 (x4)
RV: #redrawViews @ 35958674 (x4)
-- actual end, at least as far as callbacks and startup bits care.

AlpineMan
04-13-2009, 12:14 PM
Well, I don't see anything fundamentally different from the Max 2009 startup order.

PEN
04-13-2009, 01:47 PM
I will try and do another test this week. And I will ensure that I'm using all the updates so that I know I'm on the most recent version.

Kramsurfer
04-14-2009, 01:44 AM
Do you have that plugins\subfolder specifically pathed in your "plugin.ini" in the root of max?

PEN
04-14-2009, 01:53 AM
Yes I do. Just as it is in 2008 and 2009.

ZeBoxx2
05-05-2009, 07:52 PM
Paul - did you ever find the cause of this?

Just ran into the same error (but 'system exception' tends to cover a lot of ground) - not using a scripted plugin, though.

The error in my script seems to occur when renderMap() gets invoked. This is a test script:


format "system error test - start\n"
myGradient = gradient()
format "system error test - gradient creation successful\n"
myGradientBitmap = rendermap myGradient -- system exception
format "system error test - gradient rendering successful\n"
display myGradientBitmap
format "system error test - display successful - end\n"


In 3ds Max 2009, this is fine.

Placing it in Scripts\Startup\ is also fine - at least as far as code execution goes. It presents other problems related to somehow letting the user still selectively load your script, or not, based on plugin.ini .

CGTalk Moderation
05-05-2009, 07:52 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.