PDA

View Full Version : importing geometry


Pyrokinesis
04-04-2009, 08:28 AM
Hello,
I want to import a file into my scene containing a model with an existing hierarchy.
My problem is that every time I import using file i=True I get "everything" in the file:

Shaders
Materials
textures
mesh
ect...

I just want the mesh and its hierarchy.

Any Ideas?



Thanks in Advance

greatPumpkin
04-05-2009, 06:29 PM
t's not possible to selectively import things. You could try deleting the extra stuff by name if it's organized nicely, or you could reference in your file, duplicate the geometry, and then remove the reference maybe?

Pyrokinesis
04-05-2009, 09:16 PM
There are a few, unclean ways of going about it. Like getting a list of everything I imported, and deleting what I dont want after I import. Would be nice to avoid importing those things I dont want.

Thanks.

r4inm4ker
04-06-2009, 04:47 AM
Then you should export the scene first using following options :
uncheck "include these inputs"
uncheck "include texture info"

the resulting file will be clean with only dag nodes (i think). After that you could import it into your other scene.

DOor
04-06-2009, 06:30 PM
what file format are you importing?

CGTalk Moderation
04-06-2009, 06:30 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.