PDA

View Full Version : changing multiple lights at once


bearfoot
03-24-2009, 11:29 AM
hi everyone

i have a stupid question..

if i have 10 area lights and i want to make them all point lights.. how can i do it ?

obviously i can select them all and change the properties but it only changes the first one i
selected rather than changing them all.. same issue in scene editor..

thanks for any tips
n

Lewis3D
03-24-2009, 01:43 PM
You can do that in Scene Editor :).

bearfoot
03-24-2009, 02:13 PM
arrrgh

No way.. really ?

how ? .. everytime i try it only changes one of them..

thanks a lot
n

Lewis3D
03-24-2009, 02:43 PM
Ok here is Quick VIDEO tutorial for you :)

http://www.lewis.tomsoft.hr/temp/LW/LW_Light_change.mov (H.264 codec - 3,5MB)

cheers

bearfoot
03-24-2009, 03:13 PM
brilliant thank you..

however i do exactley the same in my scene editor and it doesnt work..

only changes 1 light..

how odd..

anyway thanks for the time and effort much appreciated..

cheers
n

Lewis3D
03-24-2009, 03:15 PM
Be sure to click that small CUBE where numbers appear (1,2,3,4...) and not just light names/types :). Can you record video to show me how's not working ? I never had problems with that so it's weird that it's not working for you :(.

EDIT:
I was changing hundreds (really i had to do it for 500+ lights) of Photometric lights in some of my scenes and i was changing light types or IES files and it worked fine :).

You are on Lw 9.6 - right ?

bearfoot
03-24-2009, 03:28 PM
thanks lewis

it turns out i was being a total retard !


*hangs head in shame*


:bowdown:

Lewis3D
03-24-2009, 03:42 PM
I'm happy to hear it's solved then :D.

cheers

CGTalk Moderation
03-24-2009, 03:42 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.