PDA

View Full Version : After Effects & Premiere viva what difference?

Dearmad
07-08-2003, 09:13 PM
Well, I've owned both for about a year and a half now, and, as embarrasing as this is to admit, I find I just don't use AE vs. Premiere, even when I guess I "should" be, such as with compositing.

I suppose, though I've read both user's guides and played and used both quite a bit, I'm a novice idiot when it comes to what's the real diffence between the two?

Could some of the experts out there point me to some info (other than the obvious homepages, or Google, OK? Nothing I've read or experienced yet has really helped me discern a difference) or just do some expository on what the real freakin' difference is between these two packages?

I mean, it really seems to me the difference between the two is moreartificial than it should be in order to double dip the market and sell one tool for the twice the price. Sorta like Painter and Photoshop would be if they were made by one company. It's like combining the two together is what ought to be done- get rid of the redundancy and just allow us a complete tool set.

Here's what I've noticed:

AE is S L O W in rendering out final movie files compared to Premiere. AE's interface SUCKS compared to P's. AE crashes more than P. AE has animation capabilities along splines and such that make moving objects (or whatever) possible. AE seems more "layer" oriented while P is more "footage" oriented, but that's really just a way of calling the same thing by two names when it comes down to usage.

So, anyone else really separate their usage between the two packages here?

moovieboy
07-09-2003, 10:15 AM
Okay... deep breath.

The short answer:

Premiere is for EDITING.

After Effects is for MOTION GRAPHICS & SPECIAL EFFECTS/COMPOSITING.

Longer version: