PDA

View Full Version : HELP with modeling for an iPOD

Jay119
03-21-2009, 10:26 PM
Hi everyone. I'm starting research on how to model an iPOD and I'm a relative new beginner to the Maya 2009 software. I was wondering if anyone had any hints or suggestions on how I could start out modeling the basic box form for the iPOD. I've been told using lines and drawing out the outline of the iPOD and extruding the shape would work but I'm open to any other suggestions in how to make this quicker. Any help would greatly be appreciated. Thanks.

Jay119 :banghead:

Harthorg
12-21-2009, 09:04 PM
Get lots of reference images, Import them into your scene as image planes and model your iPod to match the references, I would start with basic shapes. Like a polygonal cube then move verticies around to match the reference image. Then just add extra detail where you need it with extra loops and splits. Keep your basic shape simple and your faces quads so then when you smooth it it looks nice.

Sammy
12-28-2009, 03:26 PM
Modeling from splines is as valid a technique as modeling from primitives.
I would suggest you experiment both approaches.

Some (not all) modelers start with splines and create mesh objects with them ... this is also referred to as "patch modeling". This is what NURBS surface modeling is (one of the oldest forms of 3D surface modeling), and this approach has also been translated into polygon and sub-division surface modeling. It's pretty much how the automobile industry works.

However this approach can become pretty technical.

Starting from a primitive object like a cube and adding detail will work just as well.
This approach is far more forgiving at the early stages of your modeling career.