PDA

View Full Version : panoramic/rounded camera angle?


Soulcialism
07-08-2003, 03:41 PM
hey all
i am pretty much an lw newbie, and i'm workig on a project that is a panorama for a planetarium video show. the final pixel ratio of the project will be 17280x480, so i am not trying to render it all at once, i broke it down into 6 pieces of 2880x480, and i'll put them together in photoshop, but i have a problem with rendering at 2880x480...the camera is rendering everything head on, as opposed to from an angle, resulting in the objects on the sides to be really skewed and the objects in the middle to be true to form. is there a way to get the camera in layout to render on a curve or does anyone else have any ideas as to how i could render 2880x480 with everything in focus and unskewed?

oxygen_77
07-08-2003, 03:51 PM
do a search on Flay.com for a plugin called "Special Render" or for a zip file called "lay_utils.zip"

I think that might do what you need

Limbus
07-08-2003, 04:11 PM
You could use a much smaller camera width and assemble the whole thing in one of those panorama stitcher programs. You might need to use a somewhat bigger height to have some extra pixels for the stitching. The images should also overlap eachother.

Florian

Soulcialism
07-08-2003, 09:05 PM
i got the special projections plugin, but i can't find it when i add it in layout. when i go to edit plug-ins i can see it under image processing, but i can't seem to find it in the layout manager to bind keys, and i can't find it in the list of plugins (because it's image processing, i'm guessing).

does anyone have any hints for me? sorry to ask such a newbie question - guess we all gotta start somewhere though.

Limbus
07-08-2003, 09:39 PM
Look under "scene" -> "image process" -> pixel or image filter.

Florian

juanjgon
07-09-2003, 08:35 AM
Yes, you can use special projection plugin ... it has some limitations, but perhaps work well for you ... if not you need to render small parts and join them later with a panorma generator ... perhaps in square pictures ....

Regards,

Shade01
07-09-2003, 08:47 AM
As long as you don't need an alpha channel it works great, because it doesn't process the alpha channel

juanjgon
07-09-2003, 08:57 AM
Yes ...:lightbulb but if you need to compose you can make a second pass render using white background and alpha objects and black opaque objects ... it render fast because you dont need any kind of lighting or materials over objects ... only mate colors ...

Regards,

Soulcialism
07-09-2003, 04:39 PM
hey everyone
thanks for the help...i was able to do what i needed to do with the orthogonal process option. thanks juan for writing such a helpful plugin.

CGTalk Moderation
01-15-2006, 02:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.