PDA

View Full Version : Shave'n'Haircut v5.0 update/rendering issues


nathanian
03-20-2009, 07:53 AM
If anyone can shed some light on this, that'd be much appreciated!

I rendered this last year on Maya 8.5, Shave and a Haircut plug in (version 4.5 I believe), with 300,000 hairs (I think I even got up to 500,000 or 600,000) with a 10 to 20 min render time:

https://webfiles.colorado.edu/billingn/pics/Aeta1_byNathanBillington.jpg

and

https://webfiles.colorado.edu/billingn/pics/Aeta2_byNathanBillington.jpg


Now my school's updated to Shave version 5.0 and it reads my original file totally differently. Now the best I can pump out of this sucker is 50,000 hair (less than a tenth of my original count) and none of my textures are coming thru; all the fur is rendering out white:

https://webfiles.colorado.edu/billingn/pics/suckiness.jpg

I've done all the obvious things, like verifying file node paths, reloading the textures via the Shave menu. I first checked to see if just the lighting was blowing out the colors to pure white, but after reducing the light level of the scene and making the fur purely flat, non reflective hairs, I got a gray-scaled fox as a render.

So does anyone know of a common solution for this version transition? Once again the transition is:

Shave v4.5 on Maya 8.5
to
Shave v.5.0 on Maya 2008

(both 32 bit versions)

Thanks

-Nate

[Edit: I'm using Renderman.]

nathanian
04-01-2009, 03:45 AM
if anybody can give me some direction on this, i would really appreciate it.

CGTalk Moderation
04-01-2009, 03:45 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.