PDA

View Full Version : Space switch matching - setKeyframe or variable problem?

gonzalimator
03-18-2009, 02:25 AM
Hi,

I'm new to mel and rigging. I'm having problems with this script/scriptJob that is meant for space switching. It's for a toy windmill prop and I'm trying to set up the blades of the windmill with two parents, the toy itself and the world.

The setup I've made is like this: the windmill has two controls, a "main_ctrl" and a "blades_ctrl". The blades_ctrl is a child of a group called "blades_spaceSwitch_grp". The blades_spaceSwitch_grp is a child of another group named "blades_ctrl_cnst" which has one parent constraint constraining it to the main_ctrl. For space switch matching I'm using a null parented under the main_ctrl (pivot and position matches the blades_ctrl exactly).

Heirarchy:
blades_ctrl_cnst (constrained to main_ctrl)
> blades_spaceSwitch_grp (has enum attr named "parent", values "free" and "attached")
-> blades_ctrl (has the same "parent" enum attr but is non-keyable)

Connections:
The blades_ctrl.parent triggers the script like it was a button. The blades_spaceSwitch_grp.parent is directly connected to the weight of the blades_ctrl_cnst parent constraint.

What I'm trying for besides the seamless space switch is to set a key on the spaceSwitch_grp on the previous frame with the previous parent/position condition and a key on the current frame with the new parent/position.

Here's the code:

// ADD NAMESPACE HERE
global string $ns = "";

proc matchBlades()
{
// declare variables for script

global string $ns;
// match object info
$bt = `xform -query -worldSpace -rotatePivot ($ns+"blades_ctrl_match")`;
$br = `xform -query -worldSpace -rotation ($ns+"blades_ctrl_match")`;
// spaceSwitch current info
$curPos = `getAttr ($ns+"blades_spaceSwitch_grp.translate")`;
$curRot = `getAttr ($ns+"blades_spaceSwitch_grp.rotate")`;
// current and new parent info
$curState = `getAttr ($ns+"blades_spaceSwitch_grp.parent")`;