PDA

View Full Version : How to know if a "max" command is working?


CerberusC
03-08-2009, 07:36 PM
I mean...i want to know, for example, if max pancamera is active, and if it is change the value of a variable.

Somebody? :)

Cheers!

CerberusC
03-10-2009, 06:11 PM
Noone know the answer?

I mean to know if, for example, the command "max pancamera" is active, or if there is another command active.

Help? :)

JHN
03-10-2009, 08:10 PM
I'm pretty certain a <max ... > command cannot be monitored. You should be looking for other ways to get what you want, like callbacks etc. Anything specific you're looking for?

-Johan

CerberusC
03-10-2009, 11:03 PM
Well, right now i'm processing a render when i pan the camera or when i orbit it, and the proccess take a bit of time, so when the process ends the pan tool or the orbit tool get stucked, so if i move the mouse without pressing any button i orbit or pan the camera...it's a mess.

I only can think in two solutions, one is to release the render to a background alternative proccess, but i think i cannot do that without launching another max instance, and even with that if i don't save the render i cannot read it from my original max, and the other is to monitor these commands, so i think my problem has no solution :)

Some ideas?

Cheers and thank for the answer :)

JHN
03-11-2009, 09:32 AM
So it's sticking the to the pan tool when the process ends if I understand it right. What happens if you switch to another tool like move or rotate, does the panning stop? Or switch to the modify panel or something... if that works then you could just switch some some arbitrary tool when the process has finished... other then that, I'm pretty clueless...

-Johan

CerberusC
03-11-2009, 11:21 AM
I tried to do a "max select" command when the render finishes, but the view is reseted to it's previous position, it's like canceling the movement :p

JHN
03-11-2009, 11:49 AM
And what if you mimic the pan tool option with a custom tool script that pans the camera/viewport, then you would have control over when it stops...

-Johan

CGTalk Moderation
03-11-2009, 11:49 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.