PDA

View Full Version : Is there a script to re-save a bunch of max files?


whowhatwhenwherewhyhow
03-05-2009, 02:15 PM
I want to re-save everything after discovering how much space "compress on save" can, well, save me now that I have that checked in preferences. (I feel silly for discovering this just now)

I came across Paul Neale's script here called "Batch It Max"
http://penproductionsinc.com/scripts/batchItMax/batchItMax.htm

This seems like just what I need. But it requires a maxscript to get going. I imagine anything simple will do...maybe just a script that can create and then delete a sphere or something...just so Paul's program can re-save and move onto the next file?

Can someone help me? I know nothing of maxscript.

ZeBoxx2
03-05-2009, 02:45 PM
shouldn't require any script, really. If it complains about not finding any processing scripts, just create an empty "whatever.ms" file (i.e. doesn't do anything) - seeing as you only need to re-save the files.

By the way, it looks like you might have to adjust PEN's script a bit to re-save the files to their original location? Right now it will save the files to a separate folder (and you'd have to move them yourself).

whowhatwhenwherewhyhow
03-05-2009, 03:33 PM
shouldn't require any script, really. If it complains about not finding any processing scripts, just create an empty "whatever.ms" file (i.e. doesn't do anything) - seeing as you only need to re-save the files.

By the way, it looks like you might have to adjust PEN's script a bit to re-save the files to their original location? Right now it will save the files to a separate folder (and you'd have to move them yourself).

Yep, that's pretty much what I figured. I tried it and it does indeed want "something".

Can you help make that "whatever.ms" for me? I have no idea what a maxscript needs to have inside to be operational. Like you said, it doesn't really have to do anything...I was suggesting it just make a sphere than delete it but maybe that is even more than needed?

As for the PEN script itself, no worries, I can choose the output folder to remain the same and check "overwrite existing".

Yeah if you could get me going on the right path with some sort of simple .ms file I'd appreciate it.

Vsai
03-05-2009, 04:03 PM
What he was saying is that a blank textfile with the file extension of .ms should work for you.

PEN
03-05-2009, 04:44 PM
I know you emailed me about this but what is the reason for resaving again? I'm just inbetween meetings and don't have my lap top up and running.

ZeBoxx2
03-05-2009, 04:48 PM
'tis in the first post - he wants to re-save the files so that they will save compressed (3ds Max File preferences). Could just be a few lines of code, but your batcher should do the trick as well :)

PEN
03-05-2009, 05:08 PM
What is the command for saving compressed? A switch on saveMaxFile? I can just write it here if I know.

whowhatwhenwherewhyhow
03-05-2009, 05:45 PM
What is the command for saving compressed? A switch on saveMaxFile? I can just write it here if I know.

Hi PEN. Thanks for checking out the thread. :-)

I'm not sure what the command is. The listener isn't telling me what it's doing when I check and uncheck the box. It only tells me when it enters preferences...

actionMan.executeAction 0 "40108" -- File: Preferences

Anywho see the attached image. It is under the File Tab in the preferences window. "Compress on Save". By default max has this off.

whowhatwhenwherewhyhow
03-05-2009, 05:58 PM
What he was saying is that a blank textfile with the file extension of .ms should work for you.

Thanks guys. That did the trick. I just wasn't sure you could leave a .ms file blank but it ran thru each one and re-saved.

The test folder of a lot of high poly max files went thru and brought it down from 700MB to over 300MB. So that compress on save combined with this batch will save me a lot of space if I go thru all my other projects. I tested and the files open/load fine.

That compress on save feature should be ON by default.

Yay now after I go thru all my other files I can hold off a bit longer on needing a new hard drive. Thanks again. :-)

CGTalk Moderation
03-05-2009, 05:58 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.