PDA

View Full Version : Rigging question...

JacquesD
07-03-2003, 03:42 PM
I've started rigging my last character but I'm not that good at animation/rigging so I thought I might get so help from the animation gurus.
Here's a print of the character in stance and pose:
http://users.skynet.be/fa008785/RigPose_a.jpg

I'll of course correct all the deformations with morphs but I'd like it to be as good as possible before starting these corrections.

Could any of you guys tip me a bit about some bones positions for best deformations or any others things I might have to do to get a better result?

Thanks.

Eugeny
07-03-2003, 04:04 PM
It's looks pretty OK (for me) with existing deformations ...
Do u use weight maps or it's only bones falloff ?

Triple G
07-03-2003, 04:08 PM
I agree...it doesn't look bad to me. I might try moving the shoulder joints up just a bit. Then probably just a bit of weight map tweaking (crotch and neck in particular) and you should be pretty well off. :)

JacquesD
07-03-2003, 05:52 PM
Thanks Eugeny but I don't want it to be 'Ok'... I'd like it to be really really good... if that's possible of course.

Thanks Triple G... that's the kind of things I'd like to know... specially about the shoulders... is there a position for the bones which work most of the time?... that kind of tips.

I know I could find it myself by trying again and over again but that'd be cool if I could use some help from people who already experienced it many times.

Thanks. ;)

Castius
07-03-2003, 06:53 PM
I would suggest researching motion capture skeleton setups. These are important because there bones need to be correct for the animation to playback correctly. This is where I found the most detailed information on joint position. Your deformation looks ok but your skeleton looks like it's to uniform. legs for strait down arm go strait out. In reality your skeleton is barely strait. Strait is better for IK not deformation. Good luck, looks like a great start.