PDA

View Full Version : Choosing a College (Need Help)

MattShort
02-23-2009, 03:55 AM
Alright, I'm a high school student in South Carolina and I'm looking toward colleges. My parents want me to stay in South Carolina or North Carolina because they don't want me to be too far away and are afraid I won't like/want that. I personally don't care since they aren't actually home very often anyways.

My parents looked at The Art Institute of Charolette, The Art Institute of Charleston, and The Art Institute of Releigh-Durham. These colleges will only apply if I am going to become a Graphics Designer or Website Designer. I personally was looking at the Vancouver Film School.

The careers I'm looking toward right now are either an Animator or Concept Artist.

My parents are willing to pay up to around $80,000 US Dollars for Tuition.

Slurry
02-23-2009, 04:50 AM
Vancouver is an awesome city. I've heard good things about VFS and have worked with grads and a former instructor from there. Very talented people.

I don't know anything about the schools in the Carolinas but I don't think you can go wrong with Vancouver. Plus, living away from home for college is one of the best things you can do. You'll grow a lot as a person when you get out from your parent's wing, although they mean well.
It's only a plane ride away anyway.
Good luck.

Art

ps - you'll love Canada, eh! ;)

JoshAdler
02-23-2009, 05:14 AM
Vancouver film school has a great reputation. Also, you won't be having to pay that 80 grand, up here in Canada, University will cost you from 5- 20 g's...

goalieman392
02-23-2009, 07:54 AM
I go to Scad in Atlanta, and have had a very positive experience so far. The professors know what they are doing and have all worked on games/ movies very recently, and most have pretty long resumes. Plus, its Atlanta, ive always loved living here.. got an apartment less than a mile from the school and its basically in buckhead, the nice part of town.