PDA

View Full Version : Expression to tie object to current camera?


duke
02-23-2009, 02:10 AM
I want a certain object (that is then used in a vol. select) to always be positioned/rotated at the currently selected camera or current render camera. Does anyone know how to do this?

SoLiTuDe
02-23-2009, 03:26 AM
Can't you just link it?

duke
02-23-2009, 04:03 AM
No because the current camera changes!

ZeBoxx2
02-23-2009, 05:17 AM
so re-link it? ;)

basically I'd go with a script controller, that would certainly let you use the currently selected camera.

In a network render, there's no such thing as the 'selected' camera and unfortunately there's no way to get the camera that'll be used in a render, afaik, but you can use a #preRenderFrame callback and get its notifications; there's a transform in there that will have the same position and such as the view being rendered.

A variable that holds the camera of interest would still be better, though - which means having to change that variable.. which means you almost might as well re-align and re-link.

What is it you're trying to do, exactly?

CGTalk Moderation
02-23-2009, 05:17 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.