PDA

View Full Version : Photoshop alternative?

Lehm2000
02-21-2009, 07:02 PM
I'm relatively new to the world of texturing. Just wanted to know if there was a realistic alternative to Photoshop. I'm looking for something node based rather than layer based so I don't have to constantly be copying layers for the various channels.

iloveuue
02-23-2009, 09:57 AM
Maybe digital fusion or nuke are suitable to you.

But what I want to say is that photoshop is powerful ,

photoshop is layer based, and so the after effect

leigh
02-23-2009, 10:48 AM
I'm relatively new to the world of texturing. Just wanted to know if there was a realistic alternative to Photoshop. I'm looking for something node based rather than layer based so I don't have to constantly be copying layers for the various channels.

With regards to texturing, frankly you're not going to find a better solution than Photoshop. I cannot fathom why the previous poster has recommended Digital Fusion, After Effects and Nuke, as those are compositing applications and are totally useless for texture creation.

You may want to look into better options for handling and exporting your various layers. Personally, I find that using a combination of Layer Sets and Layer Comps simplifies the process of saving out various layers for each texture channel.

scrimski
02-23-2009, 11:01 AM
I cannot fathom why the previous poster has recommended Digital Fusion, After Effects and Nuke, as those are compositing applications and are totally useless for texture creation.Actually the are great for picture manipulation as they offer a non-destructive way to work, instancing nodes gives you more control than copying the same layer over and over again. None of them would be my first choice though.

leigh
02-23-2009, 11:18 AM