PDA

View Full Version : Blow up dust cloud at landing

BaiLong
02-20-2009, 05:35 PM
Hey,

I'm a complete newbie to particles and dynamics and want to blow up dust from the ground, when a helicopter is landing.
I couldn't find a thread or online tutorial fitting my needs. So if you know one, please just redirect me.
Sorry, I don't have any reference material to make it more visual but maybe someone can post a link... :)

Otherwise I could need some help with this.
I already played a bit with the some particle attributes and I got it working that the particles are emitted from a circle and with a little twist in them. But that's it.

Would be great if you can tell me if I am on the right way or would be fluids better?
What shapes should I use and most important how to shade them right?
What parameters do I have to change so everything behaves correctly?
I guess I need some fields, but I don't know which kind and how many.

A step by step description would be really awesome but I would be thankful for any kind of help! ^^

Thanks in Advance!

--Markus

TheNeverman
02-20-2009, 08:13 PM
Did mine with a 2d fluid container... easy-to-make swirl action - though big hit on rendertime. Particles would prolly be more efficient (if speed is a concern).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5OKWOU2qUxI&feature=channel_page

Aikiman
02-20-2009, 09:51 PM