PDA

View Full Version : What could highschool students do?

Pandaren117
02-20-2009, 06:18 AM
After reading the FAQ, I realize that the digital/entertainment/etc. art industry is not plum pretty as an average person would think. But I want to be in it. I think ever since I started to play N64 I decided to become a game designer, but as I have found out, it is really hard to effectively participate in a lot of extracirricular educational classes revolving around it. I regret now in the second to last year before high school graduation that I haven't done much to be prepared.

I'm just really worried about college apps. Carnegie Mellon, since I heard about it from Randy Pausch, looks like a great school I want to be in. Carnegie Mellon has this Bachelors of Computer (http://community.imaginefx.com/forums/thread/177560.aspx#) Science and Arts, but I have no participatory experience in computer programming languages (which they highly recommend for me to be familiar with. My school doesn't have a Computer Science class.) Nor have I kept or even pursued professional fine arts for college. (Sculptures, painting, etc.) I've just been, as a life interest and hobby, drawn to Blizzard like art, or the fantasy sci-fi materials. (Which I am afraid any fine arts college wouldn't take seriously, unless I am mistaken.) I have no definitive portfolio since I just got my hands on any of the software and training since last summer.

I know what I want to do, but I don't know how to exactly get there. I am afraid that its too late to do anything about and art portfolio and Carnegie Mellon looks so pretty (might be considered a dream school.)