PDA

View Full Version : licensing characters???

a3dmonkey
07-02-2003, 01:26 PM
Hello all,

I'm a student finishing up my graduate thesis in Computer animation and have started freelancing in the NYC area to pay the bills. I've gotten a good gig rigging and animating and the company I'm freelancing with is interested in using one of my thesis film characters w/rig for a client demo. The thesis film is not released yet so I need to protect my rights to my character and I'm not totally sure of how I should handle this.

All I really know is that I need to protect my ownership of my character. So I know I need to write up a contract for a one time use deal for this demo as well as add a reasonable fee for use of the character.

Does anyone have a good example online of a one time use character license? I need one as an example to go by as well as the name of a good copy right lawyer ( in the NYC area if possible ). The lawyer would probably be the better way to go here so that I know I'm protecting myself fully.

For a round about estimate of time for design, modelling, rigging / eveloping we are talking +5 to 6 weeks work. On top of this I will need to spend 3 to 4 days modifying the rig specificly for this demo. This is my first freelance gig out of the gate and the company is a good one so far so I'd rather not step on ther toes. Any advice that can be give would help tons.

Thankx all,

Michael Ware
Rigger and Animator
:buttrock:

a3dmonkey
07-02-2003, 04:07 PM
Okay,

so first thing I did was go out and purchase ...

The Graphic Artist Guilds
- Pricing and Ethincal Guidelines hand book ( 10th edition )

Still figuring out how I'm going to handle this but thinking ...

license the char and rig for one use only for this demo only while retaining full ownership of the charater and rig. Charge a small fee for the usage as well as the modifications that will be needed to be made for the shots.