PDA

View Full Version : Give thickness to a bottle

MortenSJ
02-18-2009, 11:33 AM
Hello

I am quite new to Cinema 4D, but i some how managed to model a coke bottle. I modeled by using a cylinder and a hybernurb. I tried with the lath nurbs, but i kinda didnt work out. Anyways, i have my bottle, but there is no thickness at all. I have attached a picture showing what i meen.

http://img155.imageshack.us/img155/4153/billede2wz8.png

Hope you guys can help me!

Umbra
02-18-2009, 07:12 PM
There used to be a make thicker free plugin, the link for it is dead.

Anyone have a link...

cmyk
02-18-2009, 07:27 PM
You can make a uniform thickness by dropping your mesh into a Cloth NURBS object (Under the Character Menu).

Here's the Hierarchy:

-HyperNURBS (Set subdivision to taste)
--Cloth NURBS (Set subdivision to zero, but set the Thickness Value to taste [probably a negative value in this case])
---The Mesh

AdamT
02-18-2009, 07:29 PM
Not necessary. Select all the polygons and extrude inward with the caps option turned on. Make sure you set the maximum angle parameter above 90.

You can also use an explosion deformer (cluster parameter), or if you have Cloth you can use a cloth nurbs object.

cmyk
02-18-2009, 07:33 PM
Of course, another more permanent way, is to select all the polys, and extrude toward the interior. Then clean up the interior by deleting polys and melding the points. The pros of using this method are that you can shape the interior non-uniformly like a real bottle.

In the future, it would be best to draw a spline of the profile (outside and in), in Illustrator, import it into C4D, then drop that into a Lathe NURB. Set the spline to uniform or adaptive so that the points in the spline find a happy medium. This will determine how the polys in your mesh will be created, so adjust the degrees of the angle in your spline, while you have Gouraud Shading (lines) turned on, so you can see the result.