PDA

View Full Version : Question about "Essential Lightwave"

milqman
07-02-2003, 03:59 AM
'Ello there.

(Sorry I have a thread that is like this and would post this question there but I feel that the topics are too different and am afraid this question would get lost)

It seems that "Essential Lightwave" by Timothy Albee is out and I was wondering if anyone had it and what they thought of it?

Thanks

DaveW
07-02-2003, 05:40 AM
Are you sure it's out? Amazon says it hasn't been released yet.

nessjp
07-02-2003, 05:42 AM
Yep,
Mine came in the mail last week.
It is quite excellent!

Cman
07-02-2003, 05:42 AM
I have it - overall it's not bad.

I like the modeling tuts, but they don't start until 1/2 through. Until that point he covers "essential lightwave" - keyframes for animation, how to make a polygon, how to color a polygon, how to render a polygon - stuff like that.

So it really covers Lightwave from an absolute beginner's standpoint - then eventually covers some more intermediate-level animation, effects and modeling.

there ya go.
:shrug:

nessjp
07-02-2003, 05:50 AM
Let me just clarify that when I say that I think it is excellent, it is because I am still somewhat of a Newbie. This book shed a lot of light on some things for me, but it was a bit basic even to me in some areas.
These things that were basic even to me is only because I am not a full blown newbie anymore so am starting to learn some things already.
However, I fell that for the completely new to LW Newbie, this is the best book.

relativity
07-02-2003, 08:14 AM
I also have it... It's pretty much a beginner's starter guide. It's a great book for absolute beginners - those not too familiar with LW. However, if you're looking for more advanced stuff, this book probably isn't for you. The tuts in this book are very basic.

I was a little disappointed to find out that the book doesn't cover a tutorial on how to make the Cheetah on the front cover. :thumbsdow