PDA

View Full Version : Facial Morph rig

pixelranger
07-02-2003, 02:34 AM
Hi there. I'm working on a modeling a character, but I just saw a demoreel in the finished gallery forum where there was this amazing morph rig, and I wanted to try it myself. I've never tried expressions before, so I figured it would be a nice way of learning.

Here's (http://www.rayk.be/pxlranger/gnom/Morphtest_divx_small.avi) a 2 mB divx showing how the rig works.

I didn't focus on the morph targets, but rather the expressions and rig itself. I'll go back and tweak the endomorphs later. Now I want to finish the model...

The setup wasn't that hard. If you'd like, I can break down the procedure for ya.
I am interested in hearing your views on such a rig and it would be nice to hear if any other of you have any experience with such a rig. Any comments on this much appreciated :)

Here's a rendering of the fella:

http://www.rayk.be/pxlranger/gnom/hode7texture.jpg

Shade01
07-02-2003, 02:36 AM
You never have to ask if you'd like to share a way of doing something. By all means share away!

Mechis
07-02-2003, 02:51 AM
Hi! You saw that facial rig in a demo reel right? I think I remember seeing it. I had no idea you could do something like that in LW though! That video you showed was COOL! Please share your technique when you get the chance.

Also, I saw your thread about this character on the forum at LWG3d. I asked how you did the hair, but you didn't respond. Is it Saslite? Or full Sasquatch? Or image maps? I'd love to know :)
Thanks again!

Stoehr
07-02-2003, 03:02 AM
The last two days I've been rigging my lead character for facial animation. Experimenting with bones, IK, muscle bones, and I'm making progress; slower than I'd like to be.

I would love to read about how you did the orbital controls. Looks very similar to the XSI version I've seen. If you willing to share, I'm willing to listen.

Triple G
07-02-2003, 03:20 AM