PDA

View Full Version : Particle Flow Scripting birth and speed Properties based an objects rotation.

HeadSmell
02-16-2009, 06:52 AM
Hi everyone,

I am trying to create a car rig with a pflow system linked behind the wheels. I wanted to use the Madcar Plugin and have the pflow linked behind the wheels, as the car speeds up the rotation on the wheels drives the birth and speed amount in the pflow.

I am fairly new to max script and I may be in over my head here, but I was researching and thinking of basing the scripting on finding the rate of the rotation of the wheel, then a “if then statement”

(to find the wheel rate)

t1 = at time currenttime (quattoeuler $.controller.rotation).z

t2 = at time (currenttime - 1) (quattoeuler $.controller.rotation).z

rate = t1 – t2

Problem is I don't have that much experience with pflow scripting and am not sure where I need to point the pflow script to find the rate and then LINK it to change the values of the birth/speed operator.

And help would be greatly appreciated...I be roaming around the the reference material till then

JohnnyRandom
02-17-2009, 06:36 PM
I am probably not totally on the same page but anyway...in fact I pretty far off In fact I was thinking about emission as per degrees

Not sure that is going to work as the rotations are seen as 0 to 90 and 90 to 0 then 0 to -90 and -90 to 0 for a complete rotation. I am not 100% sure about how to go about it counting a full rotation.

I can get it to emit based on rotation and emit rate based on angle (but thats all at the moment)

on Init pCont do
(
global theObject = $Cylinder01
)
on Proceed pCont do
(
r1 = theObject.controller.rotation as angleaxis
a1 = r1.angle
rate = a1

if a1 >= 91 do
(
for i = 1 to rate do
(
pCont.AddParticle()
)
)
)
As for plugging it into the script operator replace the current selection with a variable that contains the objects proper name and drop the variables and expressions in the Proceed handler.